Product detail

A World of Other People - Eliot Quartet series #2

A World of Other People - Eliot Quartet series #2

Author: Steven Carroll
Series: The\Eliot Quartet Ser.
$24.99(AUD)  inc GST
Available Stock: 0
Set in 1941 during the Blitz, A World of Other People traces the love affair of Jim, an Australian pilot in Bomber Command, and Iris, a forthright Englishwoman finding her voice as a writer.The young couple, haunted by secrets and malign coincidence, struggles to build a future free of society's thin-lipped disapproval. The poet T.S. Eliot, with whom Iris shares firewatching duties, unwittingly seals their fate with his poem 'Little Gidding', one of the famous Four Quartets.
Author description

Steven Carroll's novels The Art of the Engine Driver and The Gift of Speed were both shortlisted for the Miles Franklin Award. In 2008 The Time We Have Taken won the Commonwealth Writers Prize for Best Book, South-East Asia and South Pacific region as well as the 2008 Miles Franklin Award, Australia's most prestigious literary prize.

Stock Information

General Fields

  • : 9780732291204
  • : HarperCollins Publishers Australia
  • : colaus
  • : April 2013
  • : 210mm X 135mm
  • : Australia
  • : March 2013
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Steven Carroll
  • : 288
  • : Paperback